Congestion Charge in London

The Congestion Charge applies to most vehicles entering central London so make sure you know how it might affect your visit.
Sign in front of an ornate building in central London that reads, "Congestion charging central zone"
Congestion Charge Zone sign in London. Image courtesy of Shutterstock.
  • The Congestion Charge in London applies between 7am and 6pm Monday to Friday and 12pm to 6pm on Saturdays, Sundays and bank holidays, except between Christmas Day and the New Year's Day bank holiday.

  • The Congestion Charge costs £15 if you pay in advance or on the same day. It costs £17.50 if you pay by midnight of the third day after you travel.

  • You can pay the Congestion Charge online, by auto pay, app or telephone.

  • If you do not pay the Congestion Charge, you will be fined £160.

  • Most drivers with disabilities are exempt from the Congestion Charge, as are motorbikes, mopeds and bicycles.

  • Most vehicles also need to meet the requirements of London's Ultra Low Emission Zone (ULEZ) or pay a daily £12.50 charge.

When does the Congestion Charge apply?

London's Congestion Charge applies between 7am and 6pm Monday to Friday and 12pm to 6pm on Saturdays, Sundays and bank holidays. 

How much does London's Congestion Charge cost?

The Congestion Charge costs £15 if you pay in advance or on the same day. A slightly higher rate of £17.50 is charged if you pay up to three days after you travel.

How to pay the Congestion Charge

You can pay the London Congestion Charge online in advance or within three days after you travel. Drivers can also pay via Auto Pay, Transport for London's Pay to Drive in London app or by telephone. 

Map of the Congestion Charge Zone in London

Where does the Congestion Charge apply?

To find out where the Congestion Charge in London starts, download the Congestion Charge Zone map or search by postcode on the TfL website.

As you enter the Congestion Charge Zone, you will see a large letter "C" in a red circle on signs and painted on the road.

London's Congestion Charge Zone covers the following areas: 

  • Barbican
  • Bloomsbury
  • Borough
  • Charing Cross
  • City of London
  • Clerkenwell
  • Covent Garden
  • Euston
  • Finsbury
  • Fitzrovia
  • Holborn
  • London Bridge
  • Mayfair
  • Soho
  • St James's
  • St Pancras
  • Waterloo
  • Parts of Marylebone, Lambeth, Southwark and Westminster

Penalties for not paying the Congestion Charge

Drivers who don't pay the Congestion Charge within three days of travel will be sent a Penalty Charge Notice (PCN) for £160. If the PCN is paid within 14 days, the fee is £80. You must pay the charge within 28 days or challenge the PCN. If you do not pay or challenge the PCN within 28 days, the fee increases to £240.

Discounts and exemptions to London's Congestion Charge

You can apply for Congestion Charge discounts on the TfL website.

People living in London's Congestion Charge Zone receive a 90% residents' discount.

Blue Badge holders qualify for a 100% exemption from the Congestion Charge.

Congestion Charge discounts are also available for vehicles with nine or more seats, and a Cleaner Vehicle Discount applies to vehicles with electric batteries or hydrogen fuel cells.

Motorbikes, mopeds and bicycles are exempt from paying London's Congestion Charge.

Additional charge for driving in London's Ultra Low Emission Zone (ULEZ)

Vehicles that don't meet specific emission standards incur an additional charge to drive in the Ultra Low Emission Zone (ULEZ)The ULEZ area operates across all London boroughs, and does not include the M25. Find out more information about ULEZ and driving in London.

Oyster cards and travelcards in London 

You can also travel around London on public transport using contactless payment or Oyster cards.