Search Events

London Symphony Orchestra at Barbican Centre

This event has finished.
See similar events or search events.


Rousing musical characterisations, dazzling virtuosic violin writing and 'the passionate pilgrimage of a soul' fill this concert. Dvorak's overture, originally one of three written together, is not a faithful musical adaptation of Shakespeare's tragedy, but portrays the love and emotions that are central to the drama with the rousing, spectacular coda depicting the outcome of Othello's suicide. Bruch was a master at writing for stringed instruments, and this concerto allows the violin to shine. With dazzling virtuosic passages and heart-breaking romantic themes, the concerto became so popular that it overshadowed everything else Bruch wrote. More complicated and opulent than his first, Elgar's Second Symphony was written in memory of King Edward VII who died in 1910. It 'glows with a strange, veiled radiance and reveals his true colouristic genius,' says critic Tom Service. Classical music London Symphony Orchestra 2017-18 London Symphony Orchestra 2017-18 Multibuy Programme Dvorak Overture: Othello Bruch Violin Concerto No 1 Elgar Symphony No 2 Performers Sir Mark Elder conductor Nikolaj Znaider violin London Symphony Orchestra

Venue Details & Map

Barbican Centre

Silk Street
+44 (0)20 7638 8891
Public transport:
Tube: Moorgate and Barbican Train: Liverpool Street

Look for similar items by category