Search Events

London Symphony Orchestra at Barbican Centre

This event has finished.
See similar events or search events.


Elgar's First Symphony completes a programme of three works that were all many years in the making. Janacek's incidental music for Gerhardt Hauptmann's play Schluck und Jau was written in the last year of the composer's life, remaining unfinished at his death. The comedy tells the tale of the eponymous drunken vagrants, their mistaken identity and treatment at the hands of Prince Jon. Bartok's Third Piano Concerto, too, was left unfinished at his death. As a gift for his wife to play, the music is serene and lyrical with an ambiance of serenity, evoking the American birdsong he had begun to study. Elgar's First Symphony was composed over many years, but was considered by many to be the most perfect and lyrical of all of Elgar's works. 'An immediate and phenomenal success,' reported the Musical Times after the 1908 premiere. Classical music London Symphony Orchestra 2017-18 London Symphony Orchestra 2017-18 Multibuy Programme Janacek Schluck und Jau Bartok Piano Concerto No 3 Elgar Symphony No 1 Performers Sir Mark Elder conductor Francesco Piemontesi piano London Symphony Orchestra

Venue Details & Map

Barbican Centre

Silk Street
+44 (0)20 7638 8891
Public transport:
Tube: Moorgate and Barbican Train: Liverpool Street

Look for similar items by category