Search Events

London Symphony Orchestra at Barbican Centre

This event has finished.
See similar events or search events.


These late works from four composers show that even on the brink of death, they were still capable of vital, even surprising, bursts of creativity. Janacek's overture from his final completed work circles round a single theme. We hear it again and again and every time, he forces us into a new perspective, to listen deeper and deeper to subtle details. So what a relief when Carter's Instances constantly renews itself with a continuous stream of fresh musical ideas! His last orchestral work, written at age 103, celebrates the joy of creating something new. Berg's final completed work, the Violin Concerto is a heart-breaking work - dedicated 'to the memory of an angel'. He struggled all his life with a single question: how to write music that resolved the apparent conflict between systematic rigour and uninhibited emotional expression. And in this work he may have found his answer. Bartok's Concerto for Orchestra, while not his final work, offers a similar feeling of personal resolution. Pierre Boulez called the composer 'the great synthesiser' because he brought together disparate styles and traditions into a single coherent identity. Classical music London Symphony Orchestra 2017-18 London Symphony Orchestra 2017-18 Multibuy Programme Janacek Overture: From the House of the Dead Carter Instances Berg Violin Concerto Bartok Concerto for Orchestra

Venue Details & Map

Barbican Centre

Silk Street
+44 (0)20 7638 8891
Public transport:
Tube: Moorgate and Barbican Train: Liverpool Street

Look for similar items by category