Nash Ensemble at Wigmore Hall

This event has finished.
See similar events or search events.


Nash Ensemble Chamber Ensemble in Residence

Martyn Brabbins conductor

Richard Hosford clarinet

Benjamin Nabarro violin

Adrian Brendel cello

Ian Brown piano

Simon Wallfisch baritone

Peter Tregear baritone

Alexander Goehr's latest chamber work, scored for an intriguingly mixed quintet, is presented alongside Sir Harrison Birtwistle's single-movement Trio, with its uncharacteristically abstract title, and the late Sir Peter Maxwell Davies's String Quintet, first performed as part of the Ensemble's 50th anniversary celebrations. The programme is crowned by John Casken's folk-inspired Quintet.

Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)

Concertino for string quartet

John Casken (b.1949)

Clarinet Quintet (world premiere) [1]

Alexander Goehr (b.1932)

The Waking for two baritones

after 'The Waking' for clarinet, bassoon, horn, violin and double bass (world premiere) [2]

Sir Harrison Birtwistle (b.1934)

Trio for violin, cello and piano

Sir Peter Maxwell Davies (1934-2016)

String Quintet

Commissioned by the Nash Ensemble with the support of the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation

Commissioned by the Radcliffe Trust, the Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival and Wigmore Hall with the support of Andre Hoffmann, president of the Fondation Hoffmann, a Swiss grant-making foundation

Venue Details & Map

Wigmore Hall

Wigmore Hall
36 Wigmore Street
+44 (0)20 7935 2141

Look for similar items by category