Basel Chamber Orchestra With Stephen Hough at Cadogan Hall


Mendelssohn The Hebrides Overture Holliger Meta Arca Mendelssohn Piano Concerto No. 1 Schubert Symphony No. 9 (Great) Heinz Holliger conductor Stephen Hough piano The Kammerorchester Basel was founded in 1926 by the famous musicologist Paul Sacher and now ranks as one of the most popular international chamber orchestras in Europe. The orchestra plays on both modern and period instruments and is known for combined programmes of old and new music. This evening's concert is conducted by Heinz Holliger who is among the most versatile musical personalities of our time, talented as an oboist, conductor and composer. The programme includes his short composition for strings, Meta Arca. The orchestra is joined by acclaimed concert pianist, writer, composer and painter, Stephen Hough for a performance of Mendelssohn's First Piano Concerto: 'Hough [with his] immaculate timing, pacing and placing of every note, both as glittering soloist and filigree accompanist, is the living advocate of the work' (The Times). The concert concludes with Schubert's 'Great' Symphony No. 9 - pure musical majesty.


Adult Ticket: £18.00 to £45.00 (€20.46 - €51.16) per ticket

Venue Details & Map

Cadogan Hall

Cadogan Hall
5 Sloane Terrace
+44 (0)20 7730 4500
Public transport:
Sloane Square

Look for similar items by category